• Decrease font size
  • Return font size to normal
  • Increase font size
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Enforcement Report - Week of November 6, 2013

  • Print
  • Share
  • E-mail

Product Detail

Product Description Medtronic RestoreUltra, model 37712, and RestoreSensor, model 37714, Multi-program Rechargeable Neurostimulator for Spinal Cord Stimulation. Medtronic implantable neurostimulation system is indicated for spinal cord stimulation (SCS) systems as an aid in the management of chronic, intractable pain of the trunk and/or limbs-including unilateral or bilateral pain associated with the following conditions: - Failed Back Syndrome (FBS) or low back syndrome or failed back - Radicular pain syndrome or radiculopathies resulting in pain secondary to FBS or herniated disk - Postlaminectomy pain - Multiple back operations - Unsuccessful disk surgery - Degenerative Disk Disease (DDD)/herniated disk pain refractory to conservative and surgical interventions - Peripheral causalgia - Epidural fibrosis - Arachnoiditis or lumbar adhesive arachnoiditis - Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS), Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy (RSD), or causalgia
Recall Number Z-0124-2014
Classification Class II
Code Info all serial numbers
Product Distributed Qty 64,163
Reason For Recall Medtronic notified customers regarding over stimulation or stimulation in the wrong area related to select Medtronic neurostimulators. Upon a specific set of conditions, typically related to device recovery from an over discharge, there is a potential for over stimulation or stimulation directed to a lead electrode other than what was intended.

Event Detail

Event Id 66473
Product Type Devices
Status Ongoing
Recalling Firm Medtronic Neuromodulation
City Minneapolis
State MN
Country US
Voluntary / Mandated Voluntary: Firm Initiated
Recall Initiation Date 2013-09-30
Initial Firm Notification of Consignee or Public Letter
Distribution Pattern Worldwide distribution: US (Nationwide) including Puerto Rico and countries of: Algeria, Aruba, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guadeloupe, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Libya, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Martinique, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, New Caledonia, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Reunion, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uruguay, and Venezuela.