• Decrease font size
  • Return font size to normal
  • Increase font size
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Enforcement Report - Week of April 24, 2013

  • Print
  • Share
  • E-mail

Product Detail

Product Description MAQUET CARDIOHELP Support System: CARDIOHELP-I Software (up to version Product Usage: The Cardiohelp System is a blood oxygenation and carbon dioxide removal system used to pump blood through the extracorporeal bypass circuit for circulatory and/or pulmonary support during procedures requiring cardiopulmonary bypass (for periods up to six hours). It is also intended to provide circulatory and/or pulmonary support during procedures not requiring cardiopulmonary bypass (for periods up to six hours).
Recall Number Z-1149-2013
Classification Class II
Code Info Catalog Number: 70104.8012 Cardiohelp-i. Multiple serial numbers.
Product Distributed Qty 154 units affected
Reason For Recall It has come to the attention of MAQUET that there have been episodes of brief unexpected shutdown, followed by an automatic device restart of the human machine interface (touch screen) of the CARDIOHELP device. The human machine interface (HMI) is the central display of the CARDIOHELP device, where measured values, settings and alarms are displayed and adjusted/confirmed, with the exception of blood flow which is set by a separate rotary knob located at the front of the device.

Event Detail

Event Id 64641
Product Type Devices
Status Ongoing
Recalling Firm Maquet Cardiovascular, LLC
City Wayne
State NJ
Country US
Voluntary / Mandated Voluntary: Firm Initiated
Recall Initiation Date 2013-03-07
Initial Firm Notification of Consignee or Public Letter
Distribution Pattern Worldwide Distribution - USA Nationwide and the following countries: Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Canada, Columbia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Iceland, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Kuwait, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates and the United Kingdom.