• Decrease font size
  • Return font size to normal
  • Increase font size
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Enforcement Report - Week of August 15, 2012

  • Print
  • Share
  • E-mail

Product Detail

Product Description i-Stat cTnl cartridges Abbott Point of Care Inc. Abbott Park, IL 60064 USA The i-Stat cTnl test is an in vitro diagnostic test for the quantitative measurement of cardiac troponin I in heparinized whole blood or plasma samples. Cardiac troponin I measurements can be used as an aid in the diagnosis and treatment of myocardial infarction and in the risk stratification of patients with acute coronary syndromes with respect to their relative risk of mortality. The cartridge is to be used with the i-Stat Analyzer, but not with the i-Stat Portable Clinical Analyzer or the Philips Medical System (formerly Agilent Technologies) Blood Analysis Module (BAM). As part of the i-Stat System, the cTnl test is to be used by trained health care professionals in accordance with a facility's policies and procedures.
Recall Number Z-2169-2012
Classification Class II
Code Info List number 06F15-03, 06F15-04, 03P90-23, 600-9009-25 All lots
Product Distributed Qty 7,057,675 cartridges US ; 772,400 OUS
Reason For Recall Abbott Point of Care has determined that the frequency of suppressed results for i-Stat cTnl, BNP and CK-MP cartridges is affected by atmospheric pressure.

Event Detail

Event Id 62533
Product Type Devices
Status Ongoing
Recalling Firm Abbott Point Of Care Inc.
City Princeton
State NJ
Country US
Voluntary / Mandated Voluntary: Firm Initiated
Recall Initiation Date 2012-02-01
Initial Firm Notification of Consignee or Public Letter
Distribution Pattern Worldwide Distribution - USA including AZ and CO and internationally to Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, China, Columbia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Honduras, Hong Kong, India, Ireland, Italy, Korea, Kuwait, Mauritius, Mexico, Netherland (Antilles), Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Paraquay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, R.O.C., Thailand, UAE, United Kingdom, and Yemen.